The Woman in White

the writings and ramblings of a writer and rambler

  • from The Woman in White, Martin Justice

Cthulhu Who?

Posted by Westenra on October 11, 2008

Apparently I need to read H.P. Lovecraft. I never have, and someone in one of my forums posted a picture of Cthulhu–

–and I was like, “who and/or what the fuck is that?” and then I got lectured. But nicely. :)

I have a long list of books/authors I need to read. Classics in the sci-fi/fantasy genre that I just haven’t gotten around to yet. Dune, for one. Apparently H.P. Lovecraft, for another.

Sooooo, which of his books should I read? Like, what’s the first? or the best? Anyone? Help me out? Or just weigh in on Lovecraft in general.

4 Responses to “Cthulhu Who?”

  1. Eric said

    Lovecraft doesn’t do books, to my knowledge. But stories. At least I’ve never heard of a Lovecraft novel. I’ve only got the one collection. “The Road to Madness.” It’s good stuff. You might start there.

  2. Westenra said

    oh. good to know. I must have been misinformed/confused. gracias!

  3. Tim said

    Lovecraft wrote some novels, but most of his work are short stories. You might want to start with “Call of Cthulhu”. It is sort of his signature story but in my opinion not his best work. A comprehensive list of his work can be found on the page of the H.P. Lovecraft Archive.

    My favorites are “Rats in the Walls”, “The Colour out of Space”, “The Hound”, “The Outsider” and “The Thing at the Doorstep” (in nor particular order, each story is great in its own way)

    His longer stories, which might be called novels are “The Shadow over Innsmouth” and “The Mountains of Madness”

    Hope that helped.

  4. Westenra said

    Tim, thank you!

Leave a Reply

 
